Birdwatching in Lanarkshire


The county of Lanarkshire is split into North and South and surrounded by many counties - Stirling, Falkirk, West Lothian, Scottish Borders, Dumfries and Galloway, East Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire and Glasgow. The county is probably most famous for The New Lanark World Heritage Site which was built in 1785 by David Dale, a Scottish industrialist, to take advantage of the water power of the Falls of Clyde, to spin cotton much of which is commemorated at Summerlee Heritage Park.

  • There are two RSPB reserves within the North Lanarkshire area: Barons Haugh RSPB reserve and Lochwinnoch RSPB reserve and there are other nature reserves that run South-east from the Clyde down the Clyde valley towards Biggar that contain many rare species. Starting from the North, these include Glen Moss for Reed bunting, tree pipit and Little grebe; Loch Libo for Little grebe, mute swans,whooper swans, teal and Kingfishers; Cathkin Marsh for Reed bunting and Grasshopper warbler; Garrion Gill for Dipper and Grey wagtail; Nethan Gorge for Kingfisher,dipper and grey wagtail; Cander Moss for curlew, snipe, redshank,goldcrest,meadow pipit, bluetit and great tit; The Falls of Clyde for Peregine Falcons and Coalburn Moss for Lapwing, snipe, redshank and curlew

    Return To Main Lanarkshire Listing