Falls of Clyde

A Beauty Spots in Lanarkshire

Photo - Falls of Clyde

The Falls of Clyde are located near the World Heritage village of New Lanark. The reserve covers 59 hectares, has woodland along the River Clyde gorge and four spectacular waterfalls. Warblers, tits and wrens enjoy the woodland and numerous wildflowers, fungi and invertebrates can be seen. Peregrine falcons, tawny owls and sparrowhawks rule the air. Badgers, foxes and roe deer can be seen and the river is home to otters, dippers, herons and kingfishers. The gorge also features Corra Castle, a fifteenth century castle, and The Hall of Mirrors.

Falls of Clyde

New Lanark
South Lanarkshire
ML11 9DB
T 01555 665262
Visit website

Additional Photos

The Private House Stay's Guide


The county of Lanarkshire is split into North and South and surrounded by many counties - Stirling, Falkirk, West Lothian, Scottish Borders, Dumfries and Galloway, East Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire and Glasgow. The county is probably most famous for The New Lanark World Heritage Site which was built in 1785 by David Dale, a Scottish industrialist, to take advantage of the water power of the Falls of Clyde, to spin cotton much of which is commemorated at Summerlee Heritage Park.